CERN signatories, 1953

CERN signatories, 1953

A064/0043 Rights Managed

Request low-res file

530 pixels on longest edge, unwatermarked

Request/Download high-res file

Uncompressed file size: 48.7MB

Downloadable file size: 946.2KB

Price image Pricing

Please login to use the price calculator

This image is part of the feature 50 Years Of Cern Physics


Restrictions: Editorial use only. This image may not be used to state or imply endorsement by CERN of any product, activity or service

Caption: CERN signatories. CERN is the European particle physics laboratory. The CERN council first met in 1952. Twelve European nations signed this CERN Convention, agreed at the council's Sixth Session: 29 June to 1 July 1953. The Convention was subject to ratification by the member countries, and CERN was not formally established until 29 September 1954, when it became the European Organisation for Nuclear Research (though still called CERN). As of 2004, there are 20 member states. Nine have joined since 1954; Yugoslavia left in 1961. The founding members were: Germany, Belgium, Denmark, France, Greece, Italy, Norway, the Netherlands, the UK, Sweden, Switzerland and Yugoslavia.

Release details: Model release not required. Property release not required.

Keywords: 12, 1953, 6th, agreement, beginning, black-and-white, cern, constitution, contract, convention, council, countries, country, declaration, early, eonr, establishing, establishment, europe, european centre for, first, formal, founder, founding, government, historical, history, international, july, june, member, members, monochrome, nation, national, nations, nuclear, organisation, particle physics laboratory, research, session, signatories, signatory, signature, signatures, signed, sixth, start, state, states, treaty, twelve

Licence fees: A licence fee will be charged for any media (low or high resolution) used in your project.