Lunar phases diagram, 1659

Lunar phases diagram, 1659

C007/2232 Rights Managed

Request low-res file

530 pixels on longest edge, unwatermarked

Request/Download high-res file

Uncompressed file size: 51.7MB

Downloadable file size: 416.0KB

Price image Pricing

Please login to use the price calculator


Caption: Lunar phases diagram, 17th century. The title text is in Latin. The Sun is at top, and the Earth is at centre. Circling the Earth is the Moon. Clockwise from top, there are eight phases: New Moon, waxing crescent, waxing half moon (First Quarter), waxing gibbous, Full Moon, waning gibbous, waning half moon (Last Quarter), and waning crescent. This diagram is from Argoli's Ephemerides (1659) by the Italian astronomer and scholar Andrea Argoli (1570-1657). An ephemerides is a table of data for the positions of astronomical objects in the sky for a range of different times.

Release details: Model release not required. Property release not required.

Keywords: 1600s, 1659, 17th century, andrea argoli, argoli's, artwork, astronomical, astronomy, black-and-white, book, diagram, earth, ephemerides, european, first quarter, full moon, historical, history, history of science, illustration, italian, last quarter, latin, lunar phase, monochrome, moon, new moon, page, phases, renaissance, research, scientific revolution, shadow, sun, waning crescent, waning gibbous, waning half moon, waxing crescent, waxing gibbous, waxing half moon

Licence fees: A licence fee will be charged for any media (low or high resolution) used in your project.