European Union from May 2004

European Union from May 2004

E070/0536 Rights Managed

Request low-res file

530 pixels on longest edge, unwatermarked

Request/Download high-res file

Uncompressed file size: 30.0MB

Downloadable file size: 2.2MB

Price image Pricing

Please login to use the price calculator


Caption: Expanded European Union (EU). Satellite image of the EU (darker areas), including the new member states that joined on 1st May 2004. Ten countries joined the EU on this date: Poland, Latvia, Malta, Lithuania, Slovenia, Hungary, Slovakia, Estonia, Czech Republic and (Greek) Cyprus. This took the total number of member states to 25, and increased the population of the EU by 75 million to over 450 million. Romania and Bulgaria hope to join the EU in 2007. Notable non-members include Norway (top centre) and Switzerland (just below and left of centre). This image is a mosaic of images taken by the MODIS camera on board NASA's Terra satellite.

Release details: Model release not required. Property release not required.

Keywords: 2004, 21st century, atlantic ocean, countries, country, earth observation, earth science, eu, europe, european, european union, expansion, from space, geographical, geography, image, images, joined, map, may 1st, mediterranean sea, member states, modis, photo, photos, political, satellite, satellite image, sciences, state, terra

Licence fees: A licence fee will be charged for any media (low or high resolution) used in your project.