Flags at South Pole

Flags at South Pole

E215/0293 Rights Managed

Request low-res file

530 pixels on longest edge, unwatermarked

Request/Download high-res file

Uncompressed file size: 40.4MB

Downloadable file size: 3.8MB

Price image Pricing

Please login to use the price calculator



Caption: Flags at South Pole. Flags of the original Antarctic treaty nations surrounding the marker (small striped pole, centre left) which gives the position of the geographic South Pole. The Antarctic treaty is an agreement signed in 1959 by twelve nations, who agreed to use the Antarctic for peaceful purposes only, for a period of 30 years. The nations which drew up the agreement were Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Chile, France, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, South Africa, the then USSR, the UK and the USA. The treaty came into effect in 1961. Many other nations have signed it since, and it was renewed in 1991.

Release details: Model release not available. Property release not required.

Keywords: american, antarctic, antarctica, argentine, argentinian, australian, belgian, british, chilean, flag, flags, french, geographic, geography, japanese, nation, new zealand, norwegian, researcher, researchers, russian, scientist, scientists, south african, south pole, soviet, treaty nations, us

Licence fees: A licence fee will be charged for any media (low or high resolution) used in your project.