Earth's tectonic plates

Earth's tectonic plates

E350/0076 Rights Managed

Request low-res file

530 pixels on longest edge, unwatermarked

Request/Download high-res file

Uncompressed file size: 62.9MB

Downloadable file size: 3.7MB

Price image Pricing

Please login to use the price calculator


Caption: Earth's tectonic plates, artwork. The Earth's surface is divided up into nine major plates. These are rocky structures that float and move on the more fluid layer beneath them. The boundaries between plates are geologically active areas, and are the sites of the majority of the world's volcanoes (red dots). The pink arrows show the direction of movement of the plates. Where plates collide (pale pink lines), mountains can be formed, as is the case in the Himalayas, where the Indian plate collided with the Eurasian plate. Where plates separate, rifts can be formed (such as the Red Sea). In subduction zones (purple arrowed lines), where one plate slides beneath another, earthquakes and volcanoes are common.

Release details: Model release not required. Property release not required.

Keywords: artwork, boundaries, boundary, collision, continent, continental drift, continents, earth, geographical, geography, geological, geology, illustration, map, movement, moving, plate tectonics, plates, subduction, tectonic plate, volcano, volcanoes, world, zone, zones

Licence fees: A licence fee will be charged for any media (low or high resolution) used in your project.