Hawaiian island chain from space

Hawaiian island chain from space

E680/0124 Rights Managed

Request low-res file

530 pixels on longest edge, unwatermarked

Request/Download high-res file

Uncompressed file size: 44.8MB

Downloadable file size: 3.7MB

Price image Pricing

Please login to use the price calculator


Caption: Hawaiian islands. Space shuttle image of the Hawaiian island chain. The eight main islands are (from lower left to upper right): Niihau, Kauai, Oahu, Molokai, Lanai, Maui, Kahoolawe, and Hawaii. These eight islands stretch in an arc for about 700 kilometres from west (left) to east. They cover an area of about 28,000 square kilometres, whilst the highest point is Mauna Kea on Hawaii island at 4205 metres. The Hawaiian islands were formed successively by volcanic activity as a plate of the Earth's crust drifted over a "hot spot" in the molten mantle beneath it. This activity continues to increase the size of Hawaii island.

Release details: Model release not required. Property release not required.

Keywords: environment, from space, geography, hawai'i, hawaii, islands, kahoolawe, kauai, lanai, maui, molokai, oahu, shuttle imagery

Licence fees: A licence fee will be charged for any media (low or high resolution) used in your project.