Solar system's planets

Solar system's planets

R300/0229 Rights Managed

Request low-res file

530 pixels on longest edge, unwatermarked

Request/Download high-res file

Uncompressed file size: 66.5MB

Downloadable file size: 1.7MB

Price image Pricing

Please login to use the price calculator


Caption: Solar system's planets. Computer artwork of the planets of the solar system, as redefined in August 2006. The eight planets and the Sun (left) are shown here, along with three newly-defined dwarf planets (red boxes). From left to right, the planets and dwarf planets are: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Ceres, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, Pluto and Eris (formerly 2003 UB313). The International Astronomical Union (IAU) voted on 24 August 2006 to change the definition of a planet. This demoted Pluto from a planet to a dwarf planet. Eris is one of several objects in the outer solar system that, like Pluto, can now be considered a dwarf planet. Ceres is the largest of the asteroids in the asteroid belt.

Release details: Model release not required. Property release not required.

Keywords: 2003 ub313, 2006, 21st century, 8, artwork, asteroid, asteroid belt, astronomical, astronomy, august, ceres, change, changed, computer artwork, definition, demoted, dwarf planet, dwarf planets, earth, eight, eris, gas giant, gas giants, illustration, inner, jupiter, kbu, kbus, kuiper belt object, kuiper belt objects, mars, mercury, neptune, outer, planet, planetary, planetary science, planets, pluto, redefined, rocky, saturn, solar system, space, star, sun, terrestrial, three, trio, uranus, venus

Licence fees: A licence fee will be charged for any media (low or high resolution) used in your project.