Dwarf planet orbits, Solar System diagram

Dwarf planet orbits, Solar System diagram

R300/0294 Rights Managed

Request low-res file

530 pixels on longest edge, unwatermarked

Request/Download high-res file

Uncompressed file size: 46.6MB

Downloadable file size: 1.0MB

Price image Pricing

Please login to use the price calculator


Caption: Dwarf planet orbits. Diagram of the Solar System, showing the orbits of the four outer planets (Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune, green) and three dwarf planets (yellow). A dwarf planet is an object that fails to dominate its orbit around the Sun (unlike a true planet), but which still has an independent orbit (unlike moons), and is large enough to be spherical due to gravity. The three dwarf planets are: Ceres (in the asteroid belt), and Pluto and Eris (both in the Kuiper Belt). There are numerous candidate dwarf planets in the Kuiper Belt, some of which are shown in image R300/292. For an unlabelled version of this diagram, see image R300/295.

Release details: Model release not required. Property release not required.

Keywords: artwork, asteroid belt, astronomical, astronomy, astrophysical, astrophysics, celestial mechanics, ceres, diagram, dwarf planet, dwarf planets, dynamics, eris, illustration, jupiter, kbo, kbos, kuiper belt, label, labelled, labels, neptune, object, objects, orbit, orbital, orbits, planet, planetary, planetary science, planets, pluto, saturn, solar system, space, sun, uranus

Licence fees: A licence fee will be charged for any media (low or high resolution) used in your project.