Crew members of the shuttle mission 51-L

Crew members of the shuttle mission 51-L

S525/0024 Rights Managed

Request low-res file

530 pixels on longest edge, unwatermarked

Request/Download high-res file

Uncompressed file size: 50.4MB

Downloadable file size: 2.2MB

Price image Pricing

Please login to use the price calculator


Restrictions: Not to be shared on social media or embedded in a web page without permission.

Caption: Crew members of the space shuttle Challenger, mission 51-L leave for launch pad 39B where they will board the craft for take off. The flight was delayed for 24 hours due to unfavourable cross winds, but was launched the following day, 28th January 1986 at 11. 38am. Seventy three seconds into lift off the shuttle exploded, killing all seven crew members. As they leave the building here, they are Francis R. Scobee, commander; Judith A. Resnik & Ronald E. McNair, mission specialists; Michael J. Smith, pilot; Christa McAuliffe, payload specialist; Ellison Onizuka, mission specialist; & lastly Gregory Jarvis payload specialist.

Release details: Model release not available. Property release not required.

Keywords: challenger, crew members, disaster, flight, manned spaceflight, mission 51-l, shuttle, space, space disaster

Licence fees: A licence fee will be charged for any media (low or high resolution) used in your project.