Medieval zodiac artwork showing the 12 star signs

Medieval zodiac artwork showing the 12 star signs

V700/0051 Rights Managed

Request low-res file

530 pixels on longest edge, unwatermarked

Request/Download high-res file

Uncompressed file size: 35.3MB

Downloadable file size: 2.6MB

Price image Pricing

Please login to use the price calculator


Caption: Astrology zodiac. Medieval illustration of the zodiac, showing the 12 star signs. The star signs are (clockwise from top centre): Cancer, the crab; Leo, the lion; Virgo, the Virgin; Libra, the balance; Scorpio, the scorpion; Sagittarius, the archer; Capricorn, the goat; Aquarius, the water bearer; Pisces, the fish; Aries, the sheep; Taurus, the bull; Gemini, the twins. The signs of the zodiac are derived from the constellations that the Sun appears to travel through during the year. The Sun is shown as a golden sphere (upper centre) orbiting around the Earth (at centre). Zodiacs were devised in Mesopotamia in about 2000 BC. Photographed from a 14th century manuscript.

Release details: Model release not required. Property release not required.

Keywords: 14th century, artwork, astrology, astrology book, astronomy, historical, history of science, medieval, medieval zodiac, ptolemaic system, ptolemy, zodiac

Licence fees: A licence fee will be charged for any media (low or high resolution) used in your project.