Ferguson's solar system diagram, 1756

Ferguson's solar system diagram, 1756

V700/0361 Rights Managed

Request low-res file

530 pixels on longest edge, unwatermarked

Request/Download high-res file

Uncompressed file size: 51.2MB

Downloadable file size: 1.0MB

Price image Pricing

Please login to use the price calculator


Caption: Ferguson's solar system diagram. This diagram was published in 1756 by the Scottish astronomer and instrument maker James Ferguson (1710-1776), in his book Astronomy explained upon Sir Isaac Newton's Principles. The main diagram (right) shows the orbits of comets (elongated) and planets (circular) within the solar system. Three comets are marked with their years of return: 1532 and 1661; 1105 and 1680; 1531, 1607 and 1682. This last one is Halley's Comet. The planets are marked with astrological symbols, and their moons are shown. At left, diagrams show the relative sizes of some astronomical bodies. At far left, a key identifies the zodiacal symbols.

Release details: Model release not required. Property release not required.

Keywords: 1105, 1531, 1532, 1607, 1661, 1680, 1682, 1700s, 1756, 18th century, annotated, annotations, artwork, astrological symbols, astronomical, astronomy, astronomy explained upon sir isaac newton's principles, black-and-white, celestial mechanics, comet, comet halley, cometary science, comets, diagram, drawing, earth, halley's comet, historical, history, history of science, illustration, james ferguson, jovian, jupiter, labelled, labels, mars, mercury, monochrome, moons, orbit, orbital, orbital mechanics, orbits, physical, physics, planet, planetary, planetary science, relative sizes, research, saturn, saturnian, scottish, signs of the zodiac, solar system, space, star, sun, text, theory, venus, zodiacal symbols

Licence fees: A licence fee will be charged for any media (low or high resolution) used in your project.