Aristotelian cosmology, 1524

Aristotelian cosmology, 1524

V700/0432 Rights Managed

Request low-res file

530 pixels on longest edge, unwatermarked

Request/Download high-res file

Uncompressed file size: 49.6MB

Downloadable file size: 1.5MB

Price image Pricing

Please login to use the price calculator


Caption: Aristotelian cosmology, with astrological and zodiacal symbols. This Earth-centred (geocentric) worldview originated with the Ancient Greeks and dominated medieval Europe until the time of Copernicus (1543). The heavenly bodies circled the Earth attached to spheres. At centre are the four elements of Earth, Water, Air and Fire. Then there are successive spheres for the Moon, Mercury, Venus, the Sun, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn. The outer three spheres are: the Firmament (including the stars), the Crystalline Heaven, and the Primum Mobile. Beyond this is the Empyreal Heaven, the Abode of the Blessed. Published in Cosmographia (1524) by the German astronomer Petrus Apianus.

Release details: Model release not required. Property release not required.

Keywords: 1500s, 1524, 16th century, abode of the blessed, air, apianus's, aristotelian, aristotelian elements, aristotle, artwork, astrological, astrology, astronomical, astronomy, black-and-white, celestial object, celestial sphere, cosmogonical, cosmogony, cosmographia, cosmological, cosmology, crystalline heaven, diagram, earth, earth-centred, element, empyreal heaven, european, fire, firmament, four elements, geocentric, german, historical, history of science, illustration, jupiter, language, latin, mars, mediaeval, medieval, mercury, middle ages, monochrome, moon, objects, petrus apianus, planet, planetary, planets, primum mobile, ptolemaic cosmology, ptolemy, saturn, solar system, spheres, star, stars, sun, universe, venus, water, writing, zodiac, zodiacal

Licence fees: A licence fee will be charged for any media (low or high resolution) used in your project.