Earth's tectonic plates

Earth's tectonic plates

C010/2780 Rights Managed

Request low-res file

530 pixels on longest edge, unwatermarked

Request/Download high-res file

Uncompressed file size: 25.0MB

Downloadable file size: 1,011.8KB

Price image Pricing

Please login to use the price calculator


Caption: Earth's tectonic plates. Global map showing the boundaries of the tectonic plates that make up the Earth's crust. The eight major plates are the: African Plate, Antarctic Plate, Indian Plate, Australian Plate, Eurasian Plate, North American Plate, South American Plate, and Pacific Plate. There are also seven minor tectonic plates. The plate boundary colours indicate whether they are convergent (red, moving towards each other) or divergent (orange, moving apart). Convergent boundaries can form subduction zones, while divergent boundaries can form mid-ocean ridges. Parallel movement is shown in green (upper left, San Andreas Fault).

Release details: Model release not required. Property release not required.

Keywords: african plate, antarctic plate, artwork, australian plate, boundary, convergent, divergent, earth, earth science, earth sciences, eurasian plate, geological, geology, global, globe, illustration, indian plate, map, mid-ocean ridge, north american plate, pacific plate, parallel, planetary, ridges, san andreas fault, seismic, seismology, south american plate, subduction zone, tectonic plate, volcanic, volcanology, vulcanology, world, worldwide, zones

Licence fees: A licence fee will be charged for any media (low or high resolution) used in your project.