The Four Cardinal Virtues – Fortitude

The Four Cardinal Virtues – Fortitude

C014/7794 Rights Managed

Request low-res file

530 pixels on longest edge, unwatermarked

Request/Download high-res file

Uncompressed file size: 50.1MB

Downloadable file size: 4.0MB

Price image Pricing

Please login to use the price calculator


Caption: Late 15thh century marble-inlay mosaic of Fortitude, one of the four Cardinal Virtues, along with Justice, Prudence and Temperance, that are portrayed in the marble pavement of the interior of the Cathedral of Siena. The conventional symbol for fortitude is a woman with a sword, shield and a column, the last referring to the destruction of a Philistine temple by Samson. Plato identified the four cardinal virtues in the 4thth century BC in the Protagoras, later they became part of the Christian tradition.

Release details: Model release not required. Property release not required.

Keywords: 15thth century, ancient greece, cardinal virtues, cathedral, destruction, duomo, fortitude, iconography, legend, marble inlay, mosaic, myth, mythological, pavement, philistine temple, philosophy, plato, protagoras, renaissance, siena, sword, symbol

Licence fees: A licence fee will be charged for any media (low or high resolution) used in your project.