NHM Geology Department staff, 1881

NHM Geology Department staff, 1881

C016/4882 Rights Managed

Request low-res file

530 pixels on longest edge, unwatermarked

Request/Download high-res file

Uncompressed file size: 25.0MB

Downloadable file size: 3.3MB

Price image Pricing

Please login to use the price calculator



Caption: NHM Geology Department staff, 1881. Standing (left to right): Arthur Smith Woodward (1864-1944), William Davies (1814-1891) and Richard Bullen Newton (1854-1926). Seated (left to right): Robert Etheridge (1819-1903) and Henry Woodward (1832-1921). The leader of the department at the time (the Keeper of Geology) was Henry Woodward, with Etheridge and Davies as Assistant Keepers. Henry Woodward had become Keeper in 1880. He was succeeded in 1901 by Arthur Smith Woodward. This photograph was published in the 1981 book celebrating the centenary of the British Museum of Natural History.

Release details: Model release not available. Property release not required.

Keywords: 1800s, 1881, 19th century, adult, arthur smith woodward, assistant keeper, black-and-white, britain, british museum of natural history, caucasian, centenary, department, earth science, earth sciences, england, english, europe, european, geological, geologist, geologists, geology, geology department, group portrait, henry woodward, historical, history, human, keeper, keeper of geology, keepers, leader, london, male, man, men, monochrome, museum, natural history, natural history museum, palaeontologist, palaeontologists, palaeontology, paleontologist, paleontology, people, person, portrait, researcher, researchers, richard bullen newton, robert etheridge, scientist, scientists, seated, sitting, standing, uk, united kingdom, william davies

Licence fees: A licence fee will be charged for any media (low or high resolution) used in your project.