Defunct Linnaean taxonomy, 1823

Defunct Linnaean taxonomy, 1823

C017/8070 Rights Managed

Request low-res file

530 pixels on longest edge, unwatermarked

Request/Download high-res file

Uncompressed file size: 50.5MB

Downloadable file size: 6.6MB

Price image Pricing

Please login to use the price calculator


Caption: Defunct Linnaean taxonomy. 19th-century artworks of a range of mammals classified according to now mostly defunct Linnaean taxonomy. The system shown here had seven orders of mammals: Primates, Bruta, Ferae, Belluae, Glires, Pecora and Cete. Examples of the first five orders are shown, with the other two orders shown in image C017/8071. The three primates here (across top) are: an ape, an orangutan and a lemur. The other four animals are a seal (Ferae), a rhinoceros (Bruta), a hippopotomus (Belluae), and a flying squirrel (Glires). This page is from 'Universal Technological Dictionary' (1823) by British author George Crabb (1778-1851).

Release details: Model release not required. Property release not required.

Keywords: 1800s, 1823, 19th century, animal, animals, ape, array, artwork, artworks, belluae, biological, biology, black-and-white, book, british, bruta, defunct, english, european, fauna, ferae, flying squirrel, george crabb, glires, hippopotamus amphibius, hippopotomus, historical, history, illustration, illustrations, lemur, lemuroidea, linnaean, linnean, mammal, mammals, monochrome, natural history, nature, orangutan, page, pongo, primates, pteromyini, publication, rhinoceros, rhinocerotidae, seal, selection, taxa, taxon, taxonomy, universal technological dictionary, wildlife, zoological, zoology

Licence fees: A licence fee will be charged for any media (low or high resolution) used in your project.