Meiosis cell division, illustration

Meiosis cell division, illustration


Rights Managed


Meiosis cell division. Illustration of the stages of meiosis, where a cell with a double set of paired chromosomes (a diploid cell) exchanges genetic material (DNA, pink and green) between the chromosomes and divides to produce first 2 and then 4 gametes with only a single set of chromosomes (haploid cells). This is a key part of sexual reproduction. Meiosis I (across top) consists of (left to right): interphase, early prophase I, prophase I, late prophase I, metaphase I and anaphase I. Meiosis II (across bottom) consists of: interphase, prophase II, metaphase II, anaphase II and telophase II. For this artwork with labels, see C023/8858.

Release details

Model release not required. Property release not required.

 {{ i.shot_duration ? i.shot_duration + ' ' : '' }}{{ i.shot_uhd ? '4K ' : i.hires ? 'HD ' : '' }}{{ i.spl_number }} R{{ i.license }}

  • Add to board
  • Similar {{ mediaType(i) }}