Pluto-Charon system, illustration

Pluto-Charon system, illustration


Rights Managed


This image may not be used by or to promote the arms, nuclear power or tobacco industries or any religious organisation, or in any discriminatory way, or to imply the endorsement by ESO of any product, service or activity.


Pluto-Charon system. Computer illustration of the dwarf planet Pluto (left) with its largest moon Charon (upper right) and the Sun (top right). Pluto has five known moons: Charon, Styx, Nix, Kerberos, and Hydra. Charon is a very rare large moon in comparison to its parent planet and the Pluto-Charon system is sometimes described as a binary system because the barycentre (centre of mass) of their orbits does not lie within either of them.

Release details

Model release not required. Property release not required.

 {{ i.shot_duration ? i.shot_duration + ' ' : '' }}{{ i.shot_uhd ? '4K ' : i.hires ? 'HD ' : '' }}{{ i.spl_number }} R{{ i.license }}

  • Add to board
  • Similar {{ mediaType(i) }}