Landscape of Pluto

Landscape of Pluto

C025/4103 Rights Managed

Request low-res file

530 pixels on longest edge, unwatermarked

Request/Download high-res file

Uncompressed file size: 52.1MB

Downloadable file size: 4.2MB

Price image Pricing

Please login to use the price calculator


Caption: Following the International Astronomical Union's 2006 formal definition of what consitutes a planet, Pluto was reclassified as a dwarf planet, and as such is the second most massive after Eris. It is the largest body in the Kuiper Belt and the tenth most massive object in the Solar System. Pluto has five known moons, the largest being Charon (seen here in the sky) with a diameter just over half that of Pluto. Although officially classified as a moon of Pluto, some regard Pluto and Charon as a binary planet system; the system is barycentric, meaning the centre of mass of the two bodies lies outside either individual body. The four other moons are Styx, Nix, Kerberos and Hydra. The Pluto System orbits the sun once every 248 years, with a highly inclined (17 degrees to the ecliptic) and highly eccentric (elliptical) orbit. The planet is largely comprised of rock and ice.

Release details: Model release not required. Property release not required.

Keywords: charon, dwarf planet, ice planet, kuiper belt, moon, new horizons, planet, plutino, pluto, pluto system, plutoid, rocky planet, solar system, space art, trans neptunian

Licence fees: A licence fee will be charged for any media (low or high resolution) used in your project.