Map of provinces of Korea, 18th century

Map of provinces of Korea, 18th century

C026/8526 Rights Managed

Request low-res file

530 pixels on longest edge, unwatermarked

Request/Download high-res file

Uncompressed file size: 50.5MB

Downloadable file size: 5.4MB

Price image Pricing

Please login to use the price calculator


Caption: Map of provinces of Korea. 18th-century map of the historical Eight Provinces of Korea. This map is typical of the atlases which were prepared during the Joseon period of the Yi Dynasty. This historical period lasted from the 14th century to the 19th century. Features labelled include mountains, rivers, islands, and settlements. The provinces are: Pyongan (grey), Hamgyong (dark yellow), Hwanghae (white), Gangwon and the island of Ulleung (orange), Gyeonggi (brown), Chungcheong (light red), Gyeongsang (light yellow), and Jeolla (grey-green). Published in 1785 by Japanese printer Ichibe Suharaya and Japanese scholar Hayashi Shihei (1738-1793).

Release details: Model release not required. Property release not required.

Keywords: 1700s, 1785, 18th century, 5-mai no uchi, artwork, asia, asian, baian zosho no in, betsuni setsuari, book, cartography, cholla, chosen hachido no zu, chungcheong, eight provinces of korea, gangwon, geographical, geography, gyeonggi, gyeongsang, hamgyong, hayashi shihei, historical, history, hwanghae, ichibe suharaya, illustration, islands, japanese, jeolla, joseon period, korea, korean, labeled, labelled, labels, map, map of korea, mountains, no-one, nobody, oriental, page, province, publication, pyongan, rivers, script, settlements, text, ulleung, writing, yi dynasty

Licence fees: A licence fee will be charged for any media (low or high resolution) used in your project.