Administrative divisions of Africa, 1958

Administrative divisions of Africa, 1958

C028/4548 Rights Managed

Request low-res file

530 pixels on longest edge, unwatermarked

Request/Download high-res file

Uncompressed file size: 50.1MB

Downloadable file size: 3.4MB

Price image Pricing

Please login to use the price calculator


Caption: Administrative divisions of Africa. Political map from 1958 showing colonies, protectorates, territories, mandates and independent countries in Africa. European countries that still ruled or controlled large areas of Africa were the UK (pink), France (blue), Belgium (green), Portugal (brown), Spain (purple) and Italy (yellow). Ghana declared independence in 1957. Egypt became a republic in 1953. Morocco became independent in 1955, Libya in 1951, and Sudan and Tunisia in 1956. From 1958 to 1960, a further 25 countries would become independent, followed by a further 26 by 1980. Published in the USA by the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA).

Release details: Model release not required. Property release not required.

Keywords: 1900s, 1950s, 1958, 20th century, administrative divisions, africa, african, algeria, angola, artwork, basutoland, bechuanaland, belgian, belgian congo, belgium, boundaries, boundary, britain, british, british cameroon, british somaliland, burundi, canaries, canary islands, cartography, central intelligence agency, cia, colonial, colonies, comoro islands, comoros, continent, continental, countries, country, diagram, egypt, empire, empires, ethiopia, federation of rhodesia and nyasaland, france, french, french cameroon, french equatorial africa, french somaliland, french west africa, gambia, geographical, geography, ghana, historical, history, illustration, imperial, independence, independent, influence, italian, italy, kenya, liberia, libya, madagascar, madeira islands, mandate, map, mauritius, morocco, mozambique, nation, nations, nigeria, no-one, nobody, northern rhodesia, nyasaland, overseas, political, politics, portugal, portuguese, portuguese guinea, protectorate, reunion, rhodesia, ruanda, ruanda-urundi, rwanda, sao tome e principe, seychelles, sierra leone, somalia, south-west africa, southern rhodesia, spain, spanish, spanish guinea, spanish sahara, state, states, sudan, swaziland, tanganyika, territories, togo, trust territory, tunisia, uganda, uk, union of south africa, united kingdom, urundi, zanzibar

Licence fees: A licence fee will be charged for any media (low or high resolution) used in your project.