Ludwig van Beethoven, German composer

Ludwig van Beethoven, German composer

C028/8275 Rights Managed

Request low-res file

530 pixels on longest edge, unwatermarked

Request/Download high-res file

Uncompressed file size: 79.4MB

Downloadable file size: 9.5MB

Price image Pricing

Please login to use the price calculator


Caption: Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827), German composer. Beethoven's early life in Bonn was made miserable by his father, who wanted him to be a profitable child prodigy. He was taught first by his father, then Neefe, before moving to Vienna at age 21 to study with haydn. He was a virtuoso pianist, although in his late 20s increasing deafness led him to concentrate on composing. His legacy includes nione symphonies, five piano concertos, a violin concerto, 32 piano sonatas, 16 string quartets, the great mass 'Missa solemnis' and the opera 'Fidelio'. He is regarded as a giant of the classical tradition, although his work is also a transition toward the romanticism of the 19th century. This is most clearly seen in the symphonies. He died in 1827 after a long illness, although the exact nature of this is unknown.

Release details: Model release not required. Property release not required.

Keywords: 1700s, 1770, 1800s, 1827, 18th century, 19th, choral, classical, composer, concerto, deaf, eighteenth, engraving, german, ludwig van beethoven, male, man, music, musician, nineteenth, portrait, prodigy, sonata, symphonic, symphony

Licence fees: A licence fee will be charged for any media (low or high resolution) used in your project.