Map of Africa, 1817

Map of Africa, 1817

C029/1126 Rights Managed

Request low-res file

530 pixels on longest edge, unwatermarked

Request/Download high-res file

Uncompressed file size: 51.1MB

Downloadable file size: 4.7MB

Price image Pricing

Please login to use the price calculator


Caption: Map of Africa. 19th-century map of the continent of Africa, published in 1817 by US cartographer Fielding Lucas, Jr (1781-1854). The coast of Africa and major rivers were mapped, but large areas of the interior remained unknown until the second half of the 19th century. Africa is here divided into fifteen regions. The names include Barbary, Tripoli, Egypt, the Sahara, Nigritia (Sudan), Nubia, Abyssinia, Darfur, Galla, Congo, Nimeamay (Niamey), the Houswaana, Caffreria, Monomotapa and Madagascar. An inset at lower left shows the Azores, Cape Verde, and Canary Islands. Published in 'A New and Elegant General Atlas' (Baltimore, 1817).

Release details: Model release not required. Property release not required.

Keywords: 1800s, 1817, 19th century, a new and elegant general atlas, abyssinia, africa, african, angola, artwork, atlantic ocean, azores, barbary, berdoa, biafra, bornu empire, caffreria, canary islands, cape verde, cartography, congo, congo river, continent, darfoor, darfur, darkest africa, egypt, ethiopia, fielding lucas, gabon, galla, geographical, geography, gulf of guinea, historical, history, hottentots, houswaana, illustration, indian ocean, interior, madagascar, map, mediterranean sea, monomotapa, mozambique channel, mutapa, negroland, niamey, niger river, nigritia, nile, nimeamay, no-one, nobody, nubia, red sea, sahara, sudan, tripoli, unmapped

Licence fees: A licence fee will be charged for any media (low or high resolution) used in your project.