Atomic Pioneer Awards, 1970

Atomic Pioneer Awards, 1970

C029/6754 Rights Managed

Request low-res file

530 pixels on longest edge, unwatermarked

Request/Download high-res file

Uncompressed file size: 25.0MB

Downloadable file size: 4.0MB

Price image Pricing

Please login to use the price calculator


Restrictions: Editorial use only Not to be shared on social media or embedded in a web page without permission.

Caption: Atomic Pioneer Awards. Atomic Energy Commission Chairman Glenn Seaborg (left, 1912-1999) and US President Richard Nixon (second from left, 1913-1994) handing out the first and only Atomic Pioneer Awards in 1970. These awards were given to three men who played a major role in military and government atomic research during World War II (the Manhattan Project) and subsequently during peacetime. From left to right, the three are: US engineer Vannevar Bush (1890-1974), US chemist James B. Conant (1893-1978) and US Army Lieutenant General Leslie R. Groves (1896-1970). The awarding ceremony took place at the White House in Washington DC, USA, on 27 February 1970.

Release details: Model release not available. Property release not required.

Keywords: 1900s, 1970, 1970s, 20th century, 27 february 1970, 2nd world war, adult, aec, american, atom bomb, atomic, atomic energy commission, award, awarding, awards, black-and-white, caucasian, ceremony, certificate, chairman, chemist, commander, director, elderly, energy, engineer, five people, framed, glenn seaborg, historical, history, honor, honoring, honour, honouring, human, james b. conant, james conant, leslie groves, leslie r. groves, male, man, manhattan engineer district, manhattan project, medal, men, military, monochrome, national defense research committee, ndrc, north america, north american, nuclear weapons, office of scientific research and development, old, osrd, peace, people, person, physical, physicist, physics, politician, politics, potus, power, presentation, presenting, president, presidential, prize, research, richard nixon, scientist, second world war, senior, united states, us, us army, usa, vannevar bush, war, warfare, washington dc, white house, world war 2, world war ii, world war two, ww2, wwii

Licence fees: A licence fee will be charged for any media (low or high resolution) used in your project.