Fludd's five elements, 1617

Fludd's five elements, 1617

C001/2066 Rights Managed

Request low-res file

530 pixels on longest edge, unwatermarked

Request/Download high-res file

Uncompressed file size: 48.0MB

Downloadable file size: 1.3MB

Price image Pricing

Please login to use the price calculator


Caption: Fludd's five elements. Diagram showing the relative ordering of the five elements proposed by the English physician, astrologer, and mystic Robert Fludd (1574-1637). The text is in Latin. The elements are: 1. Terra (Earth); 2. Aqua (Water); 3. Aer (Air); 4. Ignis (Fire); 5. Aether (Aether). The division of the universe into these five elements dates back to Aristotle and the Ancient Greeks. The elements were thought to be arranged in a geocentric universe, with the Earth at centre and the Aether in the heavens above. Artwork published in Fludd's philosophical treatise Utriusque cosmi historia (1617).

Release details: Model release not required. Property release not required.

Keywords: 1600s, 1617, 17th century, aether, air, ancient greek, aristotelean, artwork, astronomical, astronomy, black-and-white, chemical, chemistry, classical elements, cosmological, cosmology, diagram, earth, element, elements, ether, fire, greeks, historical, history, history of science, illustration, monochrome, nature, research, robert fludd, utriusque cosmi historia, water

Licence fees: A licence fee will be charged for any media (low or high resolution) used in your project.