ROYAL ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY / SCIENCE PHOTO LIBRARY ROYAL ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY / SCIENCE PHOTO LIBRARY
Observatory House, Slough, England, 15 May 1924. A telescope is on the lawn at centre. The astronomers William Herschel (1738-1822) and his sister Caroline Herschel (1750-1848) moved here in April 1786. His 40-foot telescope, the largest in the world at the time, was built here and used in August 1789 to discover Enceladus, a moon of Saturn. Caroline's work at Observatory House included the discovery of several comets. John Herschel (1792-1871), William's son, was born and raised here, and William died here. The house remained in the Herschel family for several generations until the time of John Charles William Herschel (1869-1950), John's grandson. The house was demolished in around 1960. Photographed by William H. Steavenson (1894-1975).
Model release not available. Property release not required.