Nobel Prize for Physics 2013

This year’s Nobel Prize for Physics has been won jointly by Francois Englert and Peter Higgs for their discovery of the Brout-Englert-Higgs mechanism. This is the interaction between matter and the so-called Higgs field, carried by Higgs bosons, and is the mechanism by which matter acquires mass. This was predicted theoretically in papers written by Robert Brout and Francois Englert, and independently by Peter Higgs, in 1964. Evidence confirming the existence of a Higgs-like particle was announced at CERN in 2012. Robert Brout died in 2011, the rules of the Nobel Foundation forbid the posthumous award of Nobel Prizes.

This collection has images

Page: of  

 {{ i.shot_duration ? i.shot_duration + ' ' : '' }}{{ i.shot_uhd ? '4K ' : i.hires ? 'HD ' : '' }}{{ i.spl_number }} R{{ i.license }}

  • Add to board
  • Similar {{ mediaType(i) }}


Page: of  

keyboard_arrow_up Back to Top